Mark E Hoversten at the Designlife Award Gala

Designlife Award Gala

The 22nd Annual Designlife Gala in honor of Stephen Hill | Saturday, March 30, 2019 | 5 PM | NC Executive Mansion

Stephen Hill is proving that art and design can transform a community.

As an entrepreneur, Hill incorporates his advocacy for the arts, historic preservation, and downtown revitalization in his businesses. By investing his time, talents, and finances into his hometown of Kinston, NC, Hill is helping to spark a community renewal.

The board chair of the North Carolina Arts Council is the visionary behind Mother Earth Brewing and Spirits, Mother Earth Motor Lodge, The O’Neil boutique hotel, The Red Room, and Kinston’s Arts & Cultural District. As the founder and board chair for the smART Kinston Foundation, Hill is laying the groundwork for lasting change.

Hill is a true Main Street champion.

Read more about the Designlife Award

View the list of 2019 Gala Sponsors | The 2019 Gala Invitation | Frequently Asked Questions

Visit the College of Design’s flickr account for images from the 2019 Designlife Award Gala!

Designlife Awards
View the Gallery

Previous Designlife Award Recipients

2019 – Stephen Hill
2018 – Frank Harmon
2017 – Marvin Malecha
2016 – Charman Driver + Frank Thompson
2015 – Steve Schuster*
2014 – Mitchell Silver
2013 – Clancy & Theys
2012 – Philip Freelon*

2011 – William Ivey Long
2010 – Greg Hatem
2009 – Tom Darden
2008 – Jim Goodmon
2007 – Ann Goodnight
2006 – Lawrence Wheeler
2005 – Gail Lindsey*

2004 – Richard Curtis
2003 - Myrick Howard
2002 - Thomas Sayre
2001 - Betty Ray McCain
2000 - Mary Ann* and Samuel Scherr*
1999 - Harvey Gantt
1998 - George Matsumoto and Duncan Stuart*

* denotes deceased

Designlife Gala sponsorships support the Design Professional Outreach Fund. All funds are managed by the NC State University Foundation.