Skip to main content

2022 Shawcroft Prize Winners Announced

shawcroft competition wall

The Brian Shawcroft Prize is awarded every year to an architecture student nominated by a faculty member for their excellent hand drawing skills. This year marks the 28th year of the competition.

Four students were awarded prizes for their work. Submissions are judged based on students’ use of hand drawing skills in the categories of the design process, documentation and analysis, and presentation.

This year, Kinsley Stevens was awarded first prize, while Caroline Coyle placed second. Abby Lundergan and Gabrielle Schlitz both won honorary mentions.

First place winner Kinsley Stevens (second from left) with Shawcroft Jurors.

The jurors for the 2022 Shawcroft Competition were Brad Burns, AIA, of Gensler, Vershae Hite, AIA, of Vines Architecture, and Jeremy Leornard of in-situ studio.

The Shawcroft Prize is funded thanks to the generosity of Mr. Brian Shawcroft, architect and former faculty at NC State. Associate Professor of Architecture Patricia Morgado has served as faculty advisor to participating students since 2010.

Highlights from the Shawcroft Exhibition

About Brian Shawcroft

Brian Shawcroft, AIA (1929-2017) was a modernist architect, photographer, and professor (1960-1980) at the College of Design (then known as the School of Design).

He was the 1991 recipient of the Henry Kamphoefner Prize for his contribution to the Modern Movement of architecture. Shawcroft is well known for his architectural sketches and renderings in varied media; additionally, he excelled in drawing other subjects, particularly human figures.

In 1994, he established the juried Brian Shawcroft Prize “to recognize and encourage the skill of architectural drawing by hand.”

This post was originally published in College of Design Blog.