Skip to main content

NC State Students and Alumni Win Numerous AIANC Design Awards

Traces: Palmovka Jewish Center and Library Maggie Kroening - North Carolina State University

Each year, the American Association of Architects North Carolina Chapter (AIANC) recognizes design that exceeds the benchmarks for outstanding architectural design, structural composition and application of design theory. Over 140 projects were submitted to this year’s program, with 24 awarded.

The College of Design at NC State University had numerous winners recognized, including five student entries, AIA NC Educator of the Year, and the F. Carter Williams Gold Medalist.

Student Awards

Students in the School of Architecture swept the student award category, winning five awards.

Designing for Resilience: Wendell Food Sovereignty Center

Justin Acevedo

Feeding a Community – Wendell Food Sovereignty Center

Lauren Waterman

Frame House

Lucas Stott

On the Edge: a Climate Adaptive Park for the Battleship NC Memorial

Maggie Kroening, Stella Wang, and Josh Gogan

Traces: Palmovka Jewish Center and Library

Maggie Kroening

AIA NC Educator of the Year

Sara Glee Queen

Sara Glee Queen, AIA

Created in 2022, the Educator of the Year Award is bestowed upon any educator, faculty member, administrator, or staff person who has furthered the objectives of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) in the role of educating and supporting the next generation of architects. Sara Queen is the director of the First Year Experience, director of undergraduate programs and an associate professor in the School of Architecture.

AIA NC Young Architect Award

Shawna Mabie headshot

Shawna Mabie, AIA

Created in 2021, The AIA Young Architect Award honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the architecture profession early in their careers. Shawna Mabie, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, WELL AP is an associate principal at Hanbury, a professional faculty member in the School of Architecture, and a 2012 graduate from the Master of Architecture program.

AIA North Carolina Firm Award

The AIA North Carolina Firm Award shall be awarded to a North Carolina firm that has consistently produced quality architecture with a verifiable level of client satisfaction for a period of at least 10 years as an established presence in this state. This award is the highest honor the Chapter can bestow upon a firm.

in situ studio is led by alumni Matthew Griffith [M.Arch. ’02] and Zachary Hoffman [M.Arch. ’14], both professional faculty in the School of Architecture.

F. Carter Williams Gold Medal

Walt Teague, AIA

This is the highest honor presented by the Chapter to a member of AIA North Carolina. It is awarded to an individual in recognition of a distinguished career or extraordinary accomplishments as an architect. The award is named in memory of Raleigh architect F. Carter Williams, FAIA.

Walt Teague [B.Arch. ’89] is the creative director at Thinc Strategy and a founding partner emeritus of TFF Architects & Planners.

Awards from firms led by alumni

Several firms led by College of Design alumni won awards:

Unbuilt Merit Award | Henrietta Lacks Building

VINES architecture

Housing Merit Award | House BC

in situ studio

Housing Merit Award | Morgan Creek

in situ studio

Housing Merit Award | RuMo

in situ studio

Honor Award | YMCA Camp Kanata Dining Hall

Andre Johnson Architect, PLLC

This post was originally published in College of Design Blog.