Skip to main content

Faculty, Students and Alumni Win AIA NC Design Awards

collage of student and alumni winners from AIA NC

Award Winners:

The AIA North Carolina Design and Chapter Awards was held on Thursday, November 3rd, 2022 at the Foothills Brewing Company in Winston-Salem, NC. This is a statewide awards program that recognizes design that exceeds benchmarks for outstanding architectural design, structural composition, and application of design theory.

Over 120 projects were submitted to this year’s program and 19 were awarded.

AIA NC Educator of the Year

Thomas Barrie, FAIA was named the 2022 AIA NC Architecture Educator of the Year.

New for 2022, the Educator of the Year Award is bestowed upon any educator, faculty member, administrator, or staff person who has furthered the objectives of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) in the role of educating and supporting the next generation of architects.

AIA NC Associate Award

Austin Chappell, Assoc. AIA [BEDA ’17, B.Arch ’19], Designer, Architecture Outfit

Austin Chappell

Created in 2021, The AIA Associate Award is given to individual Associate AIA members to recognize outstanding leaders and creative thinkers for significant contributions to their communities and the architecture profession.

AIA NC Young Architect Award

Jake Heffington [M.Arch. ’16], Professor of the Practice

Jake Heffington Headshot

Created in 2021, The AIA Young Architect Award honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the architecture profession early in their careers.

Gail A. Lindsey Award

Eagles Island

The Coastal Dynamics Design Lab is this year’s recipient of the Gail A. Lindsey Award.

The Gail A. Lindsey Award is an honor bestowed to individuals or organizations in North Carolina that have worked in the architectural or an allied profession with the passion and commitment that is exemplary of Gail A. Lindsey. Advancing a cause; tirelessly working to improve the surrounding environment; performing work efforts with grace, and lifting the performance of all with whom one engages, are all qualities demonstrated by the award recipient(s).

F. Carter Williams Gold Medal

Dennis Stallings

Dennis Stallings, FAIA [BEDA ’84, M.Arch ’88] and Professor of the Practice in the School of Architecture is this year’s recipient of the F. Carter Williams Gold Medal.

This is the highest honor presented by the Chapter to a member of AIA North Carolina. It is awarded to an individual in recognition of a distinguished career or extraordinary accomplishments as an architect. The award is named in memory of Raleigh architect F. Carter Williams, FAIA.

Student award winners:

NC State College of Design students swept the student award category, winning all three entries.

Brownsville Point of Entry Hannah Smith

Brownsville Point of Entry

Student: Hannah Smith, Associate AIA

Eagles Island Nature Park

Eagle Island Nature Park

Students: Rebecca Curry, Marybeth Campeau, Claire Henkel, Maya Miller, Lauren Waterman

Oppressive Infrastructures: Mapping Racism in the Built Environment

Oppressive Infrastructures Mapping Racism in the Built Environment

Students: Ben Coleman, Britt Davis, Makayla Esposito, Ariel Hills, Jasmeen Kaur, Sophia Li, Susmita Patil, Yash Shah

College of Design Alumni Awards:

AIA NC Firm Award

Kristen Hess [BEDA ’96, B.Arch. ’97] and Siler Ransmeier [M.Arch ’09], principals of HH Architecture, won the firm of the year award.

The AIA North Carolina Firm Award shall be awarded to a North Carolina firm that has consistently produced quality architecture with a verifiable level of client satisfaction for a period of at least 10 years as an established presence in this state. This award is the highest honor the Chapter can bestow upon a firm.

This post was originally published in College of Design Blog.