Skip to main content

Design Faculty Win NC State Awards


Five College of Design faculty were recently honored with university-level awards from the chancellor, provost, and alumni association.

The award winners are listed below.

University Faculty Scholar

derek_hamDerek Ham, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Graphic Design, Affiliated Assistant Research Professor of Architecture

Derek Ham was chosen as a University Faculty Scholar for 2020. The program, established by Chancellor Randy Woodson in 2012, recognizes and rewards twenty emerging academic leaders each year who demonstrated significant achievement. Faculty members selected as University Faculty Scholars carry the title for the duration of their faculty appointment at NC State and receive an increase to their base salary.

Outstanding Teacher Award

kristenshafferKristen Schaffer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Architecture

Kristen Schaffer was selected as the recipient of the Outstanding Teacher Award, which recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels. Faculty must receive the Outstanding Teacher Award in order to be eligible for the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching and the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award, and recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they remain NC State faculty.

Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award

Gavin SmithGavin Smith, Ph.D., AICP

Professor of Landscape Architecture

The Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award and membership in the Research Leadership Academy are intended to recognize NC State’s leading scholars and faculty mentors. Members are expected to participate and contribute to the advancement of scholarship within the NC State academic community.

Outstanding Engagement Award

Helen ArmstrongHelen Armstrong

Associate Professor of Graphic Design

The Outstanding Extension Awards and Outstanding Engagement Awards are to encourage and recognize members of the faculty and EHRA staff who are nominated and selected by their respective colleagues, schools or units on campus for their outstanding contributions to extension or engagement.

Gertrude Cox Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology  

debralittlejohnDeborah Littlejohn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Graphic Design

The Gertrude Cox Award for Innovative Excellence in Teaching and Learning with Technology is a teaching award created to honor the creative pedagogy of NC State’s faculty and their work in integrating new technologies into effective teaching strategies. The award was first awarded in Fall 2002 and named for Gertrude Cox, “The First Lady of Statistics,” who came to NC State in 1940 to establish the university’s distinguished Department of Statistics.