Skip to main content

AIA Triangle Announce 2017 Scholarship Winners

AIA Triangle 2017 Winners

Each year, AIA Triangle initiates a design competition that encourages students to utilize studio projects as an opportunity to explore innovative design solutions. Since 2009, AIA Triangle has awarded over $53,000 in scholarships to architecture students at NC State College of Design. AIA Triangle recognizes the importance of their contributions, which plays an influential role in the future of the profession of architecture.

The scholarship is made possible through the AIA Scholarship / Fellowship Fund which holds the annual golf tournament to raise funds. Mark Reyer, AIA [BED ’91 + M.Arch ’94] has been instrumental in the Golf Tournament Task Force whose volunteer members are responsible for the planning and organizing of this annual event.

Recently, the 2017 AIA Triangle Scholarship was awarded to architecture students who were chosen by their studio professors to be included as nominees and whose work was reviewed by a group of architecture professionals who are also board members of AIA Triangle. The judges were:

  • Rhonda Angerio, AIA – Smith Sinnett Architecture, PA
  • Jen Sisak, AIA – RATIO Architects
  • Jason Lettie, AIA – Cline Design
  • Chris Hinton, AIA – Lord Aeck Sargent
  • Taylor Hobbs, AIA – Hobbs Architecture, PA
  • Phillip Jefferson, Assoc. AIA – PhillipJefferson Design LLC
  • Bailey Allred, Assoc. AIA – Smith Sinnett Architecture
  • Shannon Rushing, AIA – Clark Nexsen

After careful deliberation, the judges selected the winning submissions from the Undergraduate and Graduate program and presented the awards to:

  • Samuel Burner & Kelsey Morrison (Masters of Architecture)
  • Bergen Holloway (Sophomore, Bachelor of Environmental Design in Architecture)

Congratulations to all of the 2017 AIA Triangle Scholarship Nominees!

Bachelor of Environmental Design in Architecture

  • Sondra Rogal
  • Haochen Jiang
  • Jessica Weiner
  • Logan Winstead
  • Nailah Watts-Harper
  • Nick Rossitch
  • Morgan Harrison
  • Daniela Abella Guerra
  • Kathryn Waters

Bachelor of Architecture

  • Torey Kiss
  • Zachary Souders
  • Jocelyn Barahona
  • Wenlu Goo

Master of Architecture

  • Lotte Van Miegroet
  • Afsoon Kangarlouhaghighi
  • Jessica Klink
  • Marzieh Noorani
  • Eli Swinson
  • Madison Bose
  • Marc Ryan
  • Gabby Seider
  • Smith Marks
  • Cameron Westbrook