Town of Beaufort, NC

Located on North Carolina’s “Crystal Coast“, the Town of Beaufort is the county seat of Carteret County, North Carolina. Established in 1709, Beaufort is the third-oldest town in North Carolina and is listed as a Historic District on the National Register of Historic Places. The town is home to Fort Macon State Park, the North Carolina Maritime Museum, the NC State Center for Marine Sciences and Technology (CMAST), the Duke University Marine Laboratory, the University of North Carolina Institute for Marine Sciences, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Center for Coastal Fisheries and Habitat Research, and the Rachel Carson Coastal Reserve.