Skip to main content

Author: Christine Klocke

Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Competition 2019

Oct 25, 2019

Masonry Students Compete for Sigmon Memorial Scholarship

Students in ARC 432, Architectural Construction Systems, recently showcased their work as part of a juried competition for the Sigmon Memorial Scholarship. This year marked the 18th year of the Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Competition and Award presentation sponsored by the North Carolina Masonry Contractors Association (NCMCA). Since 2001, NCMCA has worked in partnership with Distinguished Professor of Architecture Pat Rand, FAIA,… 

Hal Meeks

Oct 22, 2019

Hal Meeks Leads Students to Explore Animation Through Design Camp

By Stuart Hall For as long as Hal Meeks can recall, he’s had a passion to tinker. “I was doing a lot of things that you’re supposed to do as a designer,” said Meeks, 60, whose father was an engineer and mother was an avid painter. “I got it from them and I always making… 

Carolina Gill and Kelly Umstead, NC State College of Design

Oct 21, 2019

New Grant will Leverage Human Centered Design to Improve Maternal and Infant Outcomes

Professors Carolina Gill and Kelly Umstead from the Industrial Design program at NC State are partnering with Alison Stuebe, MD, MSc from the UNC Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Kristin Tully, PhD from the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health and Emily Patterson, PhD of The Ohio State University’s School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences. The team has received a $2.5 million grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality at the United States Department of Health and Human Services to identify underlying contributors to postnatal morbidity and mortality and co-develop more effective, sustainable, and scalable postnatal care. 

AIA NC Design Awards Banner

Oct 16, 2019

Six Professors in Practice Win AIA NC Design Awards

This year, six professors in practice at the School of Architecture won AIA NC Design Awards at a celebration on Friday, October 11, 2019. Over 130 entries were submitted to 22 awards. The following Professors in Practice at the School of Architecture were recognized: In the residential design awards category, the Kimball Residence project by… 

Artboard 1

Oct 4, 2019

Two Students Awarded Shawcroft Hand Drawing Competition Prize

In a change from previous years, two students were awarded the first place prize for the Shawcroft Hand Drawing Competition. The prize, named for Brian Shawcroft, AIA, a modernist architect, photographer, and 1991 winner of the Henry Kamphoefner Prize for excellence in the Modern Movement of architecture, emphasizes the late Shawcroft’s value of drawing as… 

Landscape Architecture Design + Build

Oct 3, 2019

Design + Build Program wins Sir Walter Raleigh Award

The Design + Build studio won a Sir Walter Raleigh Award for Community Appearance in the Landscape Design category. Students, along with Associate Professor Carla Delcambre and Assistant Professor of the Practice Jesse Turner, celebrated at an awards ceremony on October 2, 2019. The Sir Walter Raleigh Awards for Community Appearance recognize outstanding new contributions… 


Oct 1, 2019

Bag the Pack Project Brings Sustainability to the Wolfpack

Students in the NC State Chile Sustainable Design Study Abroad Program developed "Bag the Pack," a project that creates reusable bags with a Wolfpack flair! 


Sep 25, 2019

Architecture Students Win 2019 Studio Prize

Eleven graduate students envisioned micro house villages for homeless and disabled veterans in North Carolina to win the prestigious Studio Prize by ARCHITECT Magazine. 

Liora Manne

Sep 24, 2019

Designer Liora Manné To Be Honored As A Distinguished Alumnus

The NC State College of Design has selected Liora Manné ('77 MPD) as the 2019 recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award. 

Kofi Boone and Lee Cherry at the DDes Symposium

Sep 12, 2019

Doctor of Design Students Explore Success After Failure

The Doctor of Design (DDes) program held its second annual symposium, Success After Failure: Designing Through Challenges, on August 16, 2019.